About the Award

The Gary L. Stamp award was established in 2018 as a joint award between VECCS and ACVECC to recognize Dr. Stamp for his unwavering support of the advancement of emergency and critical care medicine fostering the unique relationships between ACVECC and VECCS, and exemplary collegiality in interactions with colleagues around the word.  Dr. Stamp was a founding member of VECCS and pioneer of veterinary emergency and critical care.  He had a fundamental belief that emergency and critical care was the leading edge and future of veterinary medicine.  Serving on the board of directors and as president of both VECCS and ACVECC, Dr. Stamp largely contributed to the success of both organizations, collectively and individually.  The award is symbolic of Dr. Stamp’s legacy and is intended to recognize a member of VECCS and ACVECC who has made positive contributions to establishing and nurturing the bond between the two organizations.


Nominations are made by the VECCS Board of Directors and the American College of Veterinary Emergency & Critical Care (ACVECC).  This award is given to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional commitment and dedication to fostering the relationship between VECCS and ACVECC.

Past Winners

Dr. Elke Rudloff

Not Presented

Not Presented

Dr. Dennis Burkett

Dr. Gary L. Stamp